APPEA Scholarships

Tony Noon Scholarship

This scholarship provides a one-off grant to the value of $3,000 and is aimed at assisting students who are aspiring to a career in the upstream petroleum industry.  Applicants must be enrolled in honours, Masters or PhD programs at an Australian university and may come from a range of disciplines, including, for example, geology, safety, engineering, economics, law or environmental management.  The scholarship is open to Australian citizens and permanent residents.

The 2015 Tony Noon Memorial Scholarship  was presented to Curtis Armstrong, a PhD candidate at the University of Tasmania’s Australian Maritime College. His research is intended to develop response-based analysis of floating systems’ riser flow lines and their coupled systems. This would help prevent loss of assets while also reducing costs by enhancing design.

APPEA will next call for applications for the Tony Noon Scholarship in August 2017.  


KA Richards Scholarship (Postgraduate)

The KA Richards Scholarship was established in 1989 to encourage professional development to benefit the industry and is tenable in the fields of petroleum engineering or petroleum geoscience. The scholarship offers a maximum of $10,000 per year for one year of Masters study or three years for a doctoral degree (or part-time equivalent). It cannot be renewed or extended but may be held in conjunction with other scholarships or grants. This scholarship is open to Australian citizens and permanent residents.

In 2015, the KA Richards Memorial Scholarship was awarded to Jon McCullough, a PhD student at the University of Queensland’s School of Mechanical and Mining Engineering. His thesis on heat transfer in hydraulic fracturing fluids is highly relevant to unconventional gas operations.

Applications for the KA Richards Scholarship will next be called for in early 2018.