APPEA’s Executive team is based in office locations across Australia.

Board Member

Andrew McConville

Chief Executive

Andrew has more than 25 years international experience across a range of industries and with government in advocacy, policy, corporate affairs and commercial operations. Before joining APPEA in April 2019 he spent a decade with global agribusiness Syngenta, in external affairs and communications.
Board Member

Damian Dwyer

Deputy Chief Executive

Damian is responsible for APPEA's economic, trade, climate and energy markets analysis and policies. His 25-year public policy career includes positions as an economist at another industry association and in the Australian Public Service.
Board Member

Sarah Browne

Director Public Affairs

Sarah is responsible for APPEA’s broader community and stakeholder engagement program. Previously a senior advisor to Premiers and Ministers, Sarah most recently worked with a global consultancy specialising in public affairs campaigns.
Board Member

Julie Hood

Director Member Relations & Events

Julie is responsible for ensuring APPEA delivers maximum engagement and information sharing for its members. She also directs the APPEA events team, delivering top-quality oil and gas industry events, in particular the flagship APPEA Conference & Exhibition.
Board Member

Jason Medd

Director Environment, Health and Safety

Jason is responsible for APPEA’s Environment, Health and Safety policy and advocacy. His 20-year career includes senior positions within government petroleum policy and reform, the petroleum industry and advocacy.
Board Member

Simon Staples

Director Commercial

Simon has over 12 years of experience across the Australian Tax Office and Commonwealth Treasury. In recent roles as Senior Director at the ATO, Simon led the ATO’s energy and resources industry strategy, assurance and audit teams.
Board Member

Ashley Wells

Director Government Relations

Ashley has 20 years of experience in the public and private sectors, including senior roles in business, industry associations and federal politics. He has worked for senior ministers, shadow ministers and was previously at FCAI.
Board Member

Claire Wilkinson

Director Western Australia and South Australia

Claire joined APPEA from Total E&P Australia where she worked as Asset Manager for Total’s participation in the Ichthys LNG joint venture, and prior to that worked at Shell, as a ministerial advisor in Canberra and as a financial journalist in London.

Matthew Paull

Acting Director QLD/Director Env & QLD Policy

Matthew is responsible for onshore EPBC and Queensland policy. He has deep experience in oil and gas regulation, over 20 years’ experience in public policy, and has held senior positions within the federal government.

Cassandra Schmidt

Director Northern Territory

Cassy, an Environmental Scientist with more than 20 years' experience in the industry, brings a great deal of regulatory and EIA experience to APPEA. She previously worked with exploration companies in the Beetaloo Basin and operational facilities in the top end of Australia and the North Sea.